OWSD Elsevier Foundation Awards for Female Scientists from Developing Countries

The OWSD Elsevier Foundation Awards are now available. Entries will be accepted until 1 September 2017. These awards are exclusively targeted to women scientists from developing countries. Five awards will be given the winning applicants. Those are selected will receive benefit of cash and other benefits.

Program Description
Launched by The Elsevier Foundation, TWAS and OWSD, the Awards reward and encourage women working and living in developing countries in the early stages of their scientific careers. Awardees must have made a demonstrable impact on the research environment both at a regional and international level and have often overcome great challenges to achieve research excellence. The award has an important impact on local research cultures. Previous winners say the awards have had a powerful effect, enhancing the visibility of their past work and creating new opportunities for the future. The awardees are powerful role models for young women who are contemplating whether to remain in an environment that is often hostile to their needs and experience.

Award Value
Each winner receives a cash prize of USD 5,000 and an all-expenses-paid trip to attend the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) annual meeting in Boston in February 2017. Lasting 5 days, the event is packed with networking opportunities. The winners receive their award at a special networking ceremony, as well as invitations to mentoring and science communication workshops, a visit to a local laboratory, and a celebratory dinner organised by the Elsevier Foundation.

Level and Area of Studies
Non – degree program in science fields.

Place of Study
The program will be taken in Boston, USA.

Eligibility and Criteria
The nominee must be a female scientist; have received her PhD within the previous 10 years; and have lived and worked in one of the eligible developing countries in Africa, the Middle East, Asia, Latin America and the Caribbean during the three years immediately prior to the nomination: see list for Africa below (countries from other regions are listed on the official website).

Applicants’ Nationality
The citizens of developing countries are welcome to apply.

Sponsored Links

Application Instruction
Please go to the link below to see detail guideline of the application procedure.

Submission Deadline
1 September 2017.

Website and Application Link

Share this...:-)Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterEmail this to someoneShare on Google+Share on LinkedInShare on StumbleUponPin on Pinterest

Disclaimer: This is NOT the official scholarship page. This is only a one-page summarized listing of the scholarship. While we endeavor to keep the information up to date and correct, information may change at any time without notice. For complete and updated information, please always refer to the official website of the scholarship provider. Any reliance you place on information from scholarshipdesk.com is strictly at your own risk. Please read our full Disclaimer for more information.